About The North Herts Cricket League

We are the North Herts Cricket League, made of up 14 Hertfordshire cricket teams that play across two divisions on a Sunday. 

Our History 

In November 1981, a group of cricket clubs North Hertfordshire who were not playing league cricket at the time met to decide if a league should be formed to put more spice into normal club games, which often drifted into meaningless draws.


After a few meetings, fixtures were arranged between the clubs for 1982. The first few matches proved successful, and with a few minor changes the first formal season of The North Herts Cricket League took place in 1983. 


Over the years, the league attracted clubs from outside the immediate North Hertfordshire area. This made it difficult to get teams together to play matches in a 20 overs per side League Cup Competition that had been set up. The competition then changed to a six-a-side August Bank Holiday competition from 1999 to 2004. In 2011 a T20 competition was inaugurated for those clubs interested in the latest version of the game.


A brief history of our sponsors since the first formal season of the North Herts Cricket League in 1983.


1983: North Hertfordshire District Sports Council 


1984: Sky High Promotions,


1985 - 1991: N&P Windows 


1992 - 2000: Marlin House Trading Company Limited, who had close connections with leading West Indian cricketers such as Clive Lloyd and Courtney Walsh.

2000 - 2003: Stapeley Hunt Accountants of Hitchin 


2004 - Present: Broadview Windows

2011 - Present: Bracey’s Accountants sponsor the new T20 competition 

League Membership 

League Membership has changed over the years, as clubs leave due to decreasing playing strength, demising or changing leagues and clubs joining as they recognised the benefits of a Sunday league.


As league membership increased it was expanded to two divisions in 2003 and then three divisions in 2011. However, in common with the rest of the country, reduction in playing cricket, especially on Sunday, has taken its toll, and the league has reduced to thirteen clubs in 2019 but has now increased to 14 teams for 2021. If you're part of a cricket club in Hertfordshire and are looking to join a league, please get in touch!

Matchday contacts

Baldock Town CC
Jas Lalli 07886 845413, Alistair Jones 07866 840011

Bramfield CC

Ben Orchard - 07818 005035, Steve Cove 07763 691266, Paul Dennis 07889 892678

Breachwood Green CC 

Jack Gaskell 07722 874757, Jon Hall 07803 457170, Matt Gibbons 07915 647661

Datchworth CC - Will Nash – Mob: 07747 003189

Graveley CC

Shane Baynes 07703 050407 Noddy Logan 07788 721778

Hare Street & Hormead CC

Lewis Fitzgerald 07584 069677 email - Lewisfitzy4@hotmail.co.uk

Hitchin CC

Chris Maylin 07985 264939 email - chrismaylin68@gmail.com, Geoff Edwards - 07740 621531, Ian Mills - 07540 304331

Lilley CC

Mark Scanlan 07779 580442

Rosslyn CC

1st XI

Captain - Asif Khan - 07415509481

Vice-Captain - Deep - 07739457881


2nd XI 

Captain - Raj - 07850041462

Vice-Captain - Tom - 07925372656

Tom Stephens 07925372656, Dilip Patel 07961114838, Asif Ghafoor 07710004401

St. Margaretsbury CC

Stevenage CC

Mo Islam - Mob : 079568 16266

Therfield & Kelshall CC

Nick Duncan – Mob: 07742 561504 

Ultimate Warriors CC

Basit Kirmani (captain) - Ultimatewarriorscricket@gmail.com - 07949004983

Dilwar Ahmed (vice-captain) - dilzahmed@hotmail.com - 07534970085

Results Reporting - Steve Brown 07835 512351

Need more information?